My First Year in Japan (In a Nutshell)

“Wherever you fly, you’ll be best of the best. / Wherever you go, you’ll top all the rest./ Except when you don’t. /Because, sometimes, you won’t.” – Dr.Seuss

For the most part of my first year in Japan, I felt exactly like this. I didn’t top all the rest but fell far behind for a while. But that is not how I want to look back on it. I want to look back on it and be happy about what I achieved despite the difficulties. The following is my attempt to do so.

Personal accomplishments: 

I moved halfway across the globe, on my own.

I started a new life from scratch.

I lived in a country where I didn’t speak the language.

I started and continued writing on this blog.

I completed my first year working full-time in my chosen profession.

I made friends with my Japanese neighbor.

I traveled in and outside of Japan.

I got my heart not broken, but cracked and moved on from that.

I made friends that I can’t imagine living without.

I battled severe illness for half a year.

I lost myself and found myself again.

Even though I felt like it many times, I didn’t give up.

I’m grateful despite all the bad stuff that has happened.

I have no regrets.

I’m looking forward to my second year in Japan.

I’m only getting started.

 

Version 2

Leave a Reply

